Ben Aaronovitch’s TALES FROM THE FOLLY is on Sale this Month in North America!

Ben Aaronovitch‘s new collection of short stories set in the Rivers of London world is on sale in North America this month! It is discounted for all of November from Amazon US and Canada, to just $1.99.

The collection is published in North America by JABberwocky. Here’s the synopsis…

Return to the world of Rivers of London in this first short story collection from bestselling author, Ben Aaronovitch. Tales from the Folly is a carefully curated collection that gathers together previously published stories and brand new tales in the same place for the first time.

Each tale features a new introduction from the author, filled with insight and anecdote offering the reader a deeper exploration into this absorbing fictional world. This is a must read for any Rivers of London fan.

Join Peter, Nightingale, Abigail, Agent Reynolds and Tobias Winter for a series of perfectly portioned tales. Discover what’s haunting a lonely motorway service station, who still wanders the shelves of a popular London bookshop, and what exactly happened to the River Lugg…

With an introduction from internationally bestselling author of the Sookie Stackhouse series, Charlaine Harris.

This collection includes:
The Home Crowd Advantage
The Domestic
The Cockpit
The Loneliness of the Long-Distance Granny
King of The Rats
A Rare Book of Cunning Device
A Dedicated Follower of Fashion
Favourite Uncle
Vanessa Sommer’s Other Christmas List
Three Rivers, Two Husbands and a Baby
Moments One-Three

The collection is also available as an audiobook, published by Tantor in North America, and Orion in the UK.

The Rivers of London books are published in North America by Del Rey (1-3), DAW Books (4-) and Subterranean Press (novellas). The books are published in the UK by Gollancz, and are also available in a growing number of translated editions.

Aliette de Bodard’s TEA MASTER AND THE DETECTIVE is on sale in the UK!

Aliette de Bodard‘s critically-acclaimed novella THE TEA MASTER AND THE DETECTIVE is included in Amazon UK’s Kindle Spring Sale! Only 99p in until April 23rd, it is published via the JABberwocky eBook Program. Here’s the synopsis…

Once, the mindship known as The Shadow’s Child was a military transport, carrying troops and crew for a war that tore the Empire apart. Until an ambush killed her crew and left her wounded and broken. Now the war is over, and The Shadow’s Child, surviving against all odds, has run away. Discharged and struggling to make a living, she has no plans to go back into space. Until the abrasive and arrogant scholar Long Chau comes to see her. Long Chau wants to retrieve a corpse for her scientific studies: a simple enough, well-paid assignment. But when the corpse they find turns out to have been murdered, the simple assignment becomes a vast and tangled investigation, inexorably leading back to the past – and, once again, to that unbearable void where The Shadow’s Child almost lost both sanity and life…

The novella is published in the US by Subterranean Press.

REAL MURDERS, real steal (today only)

REAL MURDERS by Charlaine Harris is a Bookbub special deal, today! Only 99p in the UK (eBook), it is the first novel in the author’s Aurora Teagarden series of mysteries. Published in the UK by Piatkus, here’s the synopsis…

Lawrenceton, Georgia, may be a growing suburb of Atlanta, but it’s still a small town at heart. Librarian Aurora ‘Roe’ Teagarden grew up there and knows more than enough about her fellow townsfolk, including which ones share her interest in the darker side of human nature…

With those fellow crime buffs, Roe belongs to a club called Real Murders, which meets once a month to analyze famous cases. It’s a harmless pastime — until the night she finds a member dead, killed in a manner that eerily resembles the crime the club was about to discuss.

As other brutal “copycat” killings follow, Roe will have to uncover the person behind the terrifying game, one that casts all the members of Real Murders, herself included, as prime suspects-or potential victims…

Piatkus has published all of the Aurora Teagarden novels to date, in the UK.

Here are just a few of the reviews the novel has received since publication…

‘Harris has a knack for writing a compelling mystery… REAL MURDERS is a fantastic start to the Aurora Teagarden series and we can’t wait to continue working our way through the rest of the books… Written in a snappy, gripping and humour-filled style, REAL MURDERS is a real page turner and the most addicted we’ve been to a book in ages.’Entertainment Focus

‘Clever pacing along with ample red herrings and judiciously placed clues keep the story moving briskly. Let’s hope for another fast-paced mystery featuring Aurora and her friends.’School Library Journal

‘Teagarden is a quirky but likeable character. Enjoyable from beginning to end.’Critical Mass

Piatkus are also due to publish Harris’s next new novel (and first in a new series), AN EASY DEATH, on October 2nd.

Zeno represents Charlaine Harris in the UK and Commonwealth, on behalf of the JABberwocky Literary Agency in New York.

Anne Lyle’s THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS on Offer in the US!


THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS, Anne Lyle‘s debut novel, is on offer for the whole of May, in the US! The eBook is discounted to $4.99, from all major eBook retailers. The book is the first in the Night’s Masque fantasy trilogy, published by Angry Robot Books. Here’s the synopsis…

When Tudor explorers returned from the New World, they brought back a name out of half-forgotten Viking legend: skraylings. Red-sailed ships followed in the explorers’ wake, bringing Native American goods – and a skrayling ambassador – to London. But what do these seemingly magical beings really want in Elizabeth I’s capital?

Mal Catlyn, a down-at-heel swordsman, is seconded to the ambassador’s bodyguard, but assassination attempts are the least of his problems. What he learns about the skraylings and their unholy powers could cost England her new ally – and Mal Catlyn his soul.

Angry Robot Books also published the other two novels in the series: THE MERCHANT OF DREAMS and THE PRINCE OF LIES.

Here’s just a small selection from the reviews the series has received…

‘An outstanding debut and Lyle is certainly a name to watch for the future. I thoroughly enjoyed it.’ — British Fantasy Society on THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS

‘Anne Lyle’s THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS… gives Shakespeare’s London an alternate-history twist. The Americas are home to non-human “skraylings”; some have settled here; our hard-up swordsman hero must bodyguard these aliens’ first official ambassador. Intrigue, playhouse mayhem and revelations of strange skrayling powers follow. A lively, readable debut.’ —

‘It’s always a pleasure to encounter a debut fantasy novel that combines storytelling verve with inventive turns of phrase.’ — SFX Magazine on THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS

‘Full of vitality and some spectacular sequences, THE MERCHANT OF DREAMS is simply fantastic… A more fully realised world, richer secondary characters, an excellent main cast, and a very moving and emotional story… certainly a stronger novel than its predecessor.’ — The Founding Fields

THE MERCHANT OF DREAMS is a fantastic sequel to THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS… Lyle is a master of blending historical fact and fantastic fiction and she’s only gotten better with her second book.’ — A Fantastical Librarian

‘As exciting and action-packed as the previous two volumes, and it picks up all the loose threads that were left hanging at the end of THE MERCHANT OF DREAMS… I highly recommend this book, but don’t start here. Start with THE ALCHEMIST OF SOULS and read them in order or you’ll be floundering. For those that have followed the series so far, this is a tight conclusion…’  —  Fantasy Faction on THE PRINCE OF LIES