New paperbacks: smaller, but just as much of a punch

This week, two our clients have new paperbacks available: Will Elliott‘s THE PILGRIMS and Charlaine Harris‘s NIGHT SHIFT!

THE PILGRIMS is the first novel in Elliott’s Pendulum trilogy, and is published in the US by Tor Books. Here’s the synopsis…

Eric Albright is a twenty-six-year-old journalist living in London. That is to say he would be a journalist if he got off his backside. But this luckless slacker isn’t all bad — he has a soft spot for his sometimes friend Stuart Casey, the homeless old drunk who mostly lives under the railway bridge near his flat. Eric is willing to let his life just drift by…until the day a small red door appears on the graffiti-covered wall of the bridge, and a gang of strange-looking people — Eric’s pretty sure one of them is a giant — dash out of the door and rob the nearby newsagent. From that day on Eric and Case haunt the arch, waiting for the door to reappear.

When it does, both Eric and Case choose to go through…to the land of Levaal. A place where a mountain-sized dragon with the powers of a god lies sleeping beneath a great white castle. In the castle the sinister Lord Vous rules with an iron fist, and the Project, designed to effect his transformation into an immortal spirit, nears completion. But Vous’s growing madness is close to consuming him, together with his fear of an imaginary being named Shadow. And soon Eric may lend substance to that fear. An impossibly vast wall divides Levaal, and no one has ever seen what lies beyond. Eric and Casey are called Pilgrims, and may have powers that no one in either world yet understands, and soon the wall may be broken. What will enter from the other side?

SHADOW and WORLD’S END, the other novels in the series, are also published in the US by Tor Books (out now in hardcover). The whole trilogy is available in the UK, published by Jo Fletcher Books.

The third novel in the bestselling Midnight, Texas urban fantasy series, Harris’s NIGHT SHIFT is published in the UK by Gollancz

Welcome to the most intriguing mystery you’ll read this year.

Welcome to Midnight, Texas.

At Midnight’s local pawnshop, weapons are flying off the shelves-only to be used in sudden and dramatic suicides right at the main crossroads in town.

Who better to figure out why blood is being spilled than the vampire Lemuel, who, while translating mysterious texts, discovers what makes Midnight the town it is. There’s a reason why witches and werewolves, killers and psychics, have been drawn to this place.

And now they must come together to stop the bloodshed in the heart of Midnight. For if all hell breaks loose — which just might happen — it will put the secretive town on the map, where no one wants it to be…

Gollancz has also published the first two novels in the series in the UK: MIDNIGHT CROSSROADS and DAY SHIFT.

Zeno represents Charlaine Harris in the UK and Commonwealth, on behalf of the JABberwocky Literary Agency in New York.

Out Now in the US: WORLD’S END by Will Elliott


The final volume in Will Elliott‘s Pendulum Trilogy is finally out in the US! WORLD’S END is published in North America by Tor Books. Here’s the synopsis…

When Eric Albright, a luckless London slacker, and his pal Stuart Casey went through a battered red door under a railway bridge, the last thing they expected to find was another world. There lay the strange, dark realm of Levaal, whose tyrant lord Vous has ascended to godhood. The great wall which has divided the land has been brought down, setting loose a horde of demonic Tormentors. In their sky prisons, the dragons are stirring, set to defy their slumbering creator and steal humanity’s world.

Shilen, a dragon cloaked in human form, has convinced Eric and Aziel, Vous’s daughter, to help free the dragons from their sky-prison, or Earth will be destroyed. She promises great power, and safety for all Eric’s favoured people, but Shilen has an ulterior motive, for the dragons wish to control humankind completely.

In Will Elliott’s World’s End, the third volume in The Pendulum Trilogy,Levaal is facing the final battle in this age-old war between worlds and forces more ancient than any human, god, or dragon.

The Pendulum Trilogy also includes THE PILGRIMS and SHADOW, both of which are also published by Tor Books in North America. The whole trilogy is published in the UK by Jo Fletcher Books. It is also available in an omnibus edition in the UK. You can read an excerpt from WORLD’S END here.

‘The author’s not only a superb craftsman and character-builder, but a consummate storyteller, so that each good-against-evil clash appears fresh and engrossing.’ — Kirkus Reviews on THE PILGRIMS

‘Strong ideas and complex characters…’ — Starburst on WORLD’S END

‘Elliott’s prose is sharp and engaging.’The List


US Cover: WORLD’S END by Will Elliott


In March 2016, Tor Books are due to publish the final volume in Will Elliott‘s Pendulum Trilogy, WORLD’S END. Here’s the synopsis…

Vous has ascended to godhood and Eric and Aziel return to the castle to defeat the Arch Mage. The sky dragons offer Eric a throne, and objects of great power – but what do they want in return?

Meanwhile, at World’s End, the haiyens have made contact. They say they have come to help, but is it possible they have another agenda?

Tor Books also published the first two novels in the fantasy series, THE PILGRIMS and SHADOW.


The trilogy is published in the UK by Jo Fletcher Books — individually and as an omnibus.