Ian Tregillis’s MECHANICAL out now in Turkey!

We’re very happy to report that Ian Tregillis‘s superb THE MECHANICAL is now available in Turkey! The first book in the author’s highly acclaimed Alchemy Wars fantasy trilogy, it is published by April Yayıncılık as MEKANIK. Here’s the synopsis…

Adım Jax.

Bu ismi bana efendilerim bahşetti.

Ben bir köleyim.


Spekülatif kurmacanın usta yazarı Ian Tregillis’le tanışın.

Fonda felsefi punk gösterisi var.

Karşınızdaysa simya düşleri, mekanik adamlar ve olası gelecek.

Asimov’un izinde Tregillis, robotiksle tarihi kurmacayı birleştiriyor.

Özgür irade ve insanlığı sorguluyor.

Mekanik yalnızca bir başlangıç.

The trilogy is published in the UK and North America by Orbit, and also includes THE LIBERATION and THE RISING.

Here’s the English-language synopsis for THE MECHANICAL

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

A prequel novella to the series — COME THE REVOLUTION — was recently published in the Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine.

Here is just a small selection of the aforementioned critical acclaim that THE MECHANICAL has received so far…

‘The first thing readers will say after finishing this splendid book is: “Wow.” The second thing will probably be: “When can I read the next one?” … This is a rousing SF/fantasy adventure, with a brilliantly imagined and beautifully rendered alternate world. Although he keeps the pace moving at a brisk clip, the author is able to work in some Big Ideas, asking us to think about what we mean when we speak about souls and free will. This isn’t Tregillis’ first venture into alternate history — the Milkweed Triptych is set during WWII and features an alternate time line — but, in terms of the quality of writing and cleverness of ideas, this new book constitutes a major leap forward.’ — Booklist (Starred Review)

‘… launches a series with this superb alternate history filled with clockwork men and ethical questions on the nature of free will… Tregillis’s complex setting is elegantly delivered, and the rich characters and gripping story really make this tale soar.’ — Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

‘An original approach to a well-known subject matter; human ethics and free will… a fascinating world… Tregillis is a capable sculptor of narrative. He rarely drags on in his descriptions, painting a complex picture of his world one section at a time. He imbues most characters with a specific internal voice, ably switching between points of view without it ever jarring. And the central character, a Clakker known as Jax, is the most engaging automaton you’ll encounter in any recent book. This opener to the Alchemy Wars trilogy delivers a mostly fresh breath of sci-fi fantasy.’ — SciFi Now

‘An excellent novel. Truly excellent: I have rarely found myself this gripped by a book … At the climactic points, I had to pause and walk away for moments at a time, because the intensity of the tension became nerve-wrackingly hard to bear. Tregillis has an excellent eye for characterisation, and a master’s grasp of how to build tension to a breaking point: the sheer narrative drive here, the way in which the storylines of the three point-of-view characters support and reinforce the tension in each other, is a thing of beauty. I can’t escape the feeling that it’s shaping up as a long arc tragedy – in the classic sense of tragedy – for all of its protagonists, but it is immensely well done. I’m very much on board to see what happens next. Even though it’s probably going to horrify me more.’ — Locus

Ian’s first trilogy, the similarly acclaimed Milkweed Triptych, is also published in the UK by Orbit Books: BITTER SEEDS, THE COLDEST WAR, and NECESSARY EVIL.

Zeno represents Ian Tregillis in the UK and Translation, on behalf of Kay McCauley at Aurous, Inc.

More Zeno agency news