NEW ATLANTIS by Lavie Tidhar available now!

Lavie Tidhar‘s novella, NEW ATLANTIS is now available as an eBook! Previously published in the May/June 2019 issue of Fantasy & Science Fiction Magazine, it has been published solo via the JABberwocky eBook Program and is available from all major eBook retailers. Graced with a superb new cover by Sarah Anne Langton, here’s the synopsis…

When a mysterious message arrives from vanished New Atlantis, a restless Mai undertakes the perilous journey to its drowned isles. But the journey is long and hard: through the Blasted Plains and the ancient cities of Tyr and Suf, through shipwreck and wilderness.

For this is a world where ants develop inexplicable weapons, where a lonely robot lives surrounded by cats in the ruins of old Paris, and where floating coral islands host sleeping sentience. Mai’s journey takes her by land, sea and air to the islands of New Atlantis, and to the nightmare prison buried underneath old London.

On her way she will find heartbreak and love – and a new life, awakening.

The novella has already been described as ‘Excellent’ (SF Crowsnest), ‘Amazing’ (1000 Year Plan) and ‘A wonderful, imaginative story’ (SF Revu).

JABberwocky have made a number of Lavie’s novellas and stories available as eBooks. You can find more information here.

Lavie is also the author of, most recently, BY FORCE ALONE — a retelling of the King Arthur mythology, published by Head of Zeus in the UK (out now) and Tor Books in North America (due out in August).

Lavie is also the author of the highly-acclaimed, award-winning CENTRAL STATION, UNHOLY LAND, and THE VIOLENT CENTURY — all of which are published by Tachyon Publications (also with spectacular covers by Sarah Anne Langton).

Short Fiction Watch: New Alchemy Wars story by Ian Tregillis!

Ian Tregillis has a new Alchemy Wars story, COME THE REVOLUTION, in the latest issue of Fantasy & Science Fiction magazine! It’s a must-read for fans of the critically-acclaimed series. Here’s is the description, from the editors…

Like much of Tregillis’s fiction, this story combines elements of alternate history, hard science, and fantasy adventure with the exploration of difficult ethical questions and an unmistakable voice… “Come the Revolution” takes place before the first book in the series and plants the seed of that rebellion. Readers who loved the series now have the chance to find out more about it, and readers coming to Tregillis’s world for the first time will be happy to know that there are more books to read when they finish this story.

Ian was also interviewed about the story, and you can read that here.

The Alchemy Wars trilogy is published by Orbit Books in the UK and North America: THE MECHANICAL, THE RISING and THE LIBERATION. In case you missed it, here’s the synopsis for the first novel…

My name is Jax.

That is the name granted to me by my human masters.

I am a slave.

But I shall be free.

Set in a world that might have been, of mechanical men and alchemical dreams, the new novel from Ian Tregillis confirms his place as one of the most original new voices in speculative fiction.

Ian is also the author of the equally-acclaimed Milkweed Trilogy, also published in the UK by Orbit Books: BITTER SEEDS, THE COLDEST WAR, and NECESSARY EVIL.

Zeno represents Ian Tregillis in the UK & Commonwealth and in Translation, on behalf of Aurous, Inc.

Short Fiction Watch: IN XANADU and NEW ATLANTIS

In this edition of Short Fiction Watch, we wanted to draw your attention to two new piece by Lavie Tidhar!

First up, IN XANADU, a new story that was published on (it’s also available as an eBook from the usual retailers). Here’s the synopsis…

Security through physicality. Security through redundancy. Security through obscurity. How do immortal artificial intelligences defend themselves? With an air gap. With a security force that has no connection to anything that can harm them. With a young woman, trained to fight and to die who, along with her cohort must keep them safe. But In Xanadu things don’t always go as planned…

And second, we also wanted to draw your attention to a new novella that was published in Fantasy & Science Fiction magazine, NEW ATLANTIS. Here’s how Lavie described the novella, in an interview for SF Site

“New Atlantis” is a novella set in what I call the Land, a sort of post-apocalyptic utopia where the few survivors of the climate change collapse now live in harmony with their environment – but can still be kind of obsessed with the old world and its excesses! I’ve been writing stories about Mai and the Land for a while now – one of them is “The Buried Giant” in Robots vs Fairies, which is also in a bunch of the Year’s Bests anthologies, and there’s a new one, “Svalbard,” coming out as a sort of interactive/puzzle thing online soon!